The Most Famous Sports Trophies Around the World

Bryson DeChambeau of the United States celebrates with the championship trophy after winning the 120th U.S. Open Championship on September 20, 2020

For professional athletes and sports fans alike, there’s no greater feeling than winning that coveted trophy. Online sports betting fans also get a huge thrill from watching their team lift the trophy at the end of a season, especially after they’ve placed a futures bet on them! No matter the sport, the chance to win a trophy motivates athletes to put on their best performance. But some awards are more celebrated than others. Let’s take a look at some of the most famous sports trophies around the world.


Novak Djokovic holding the Wimbledon Championship Trophy at Wimbledon July 2019

Wimbledon Championship Trophy

The championship held at Wimbledon is one of four Grand Slam tennis Majors played every year. Presented at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London, the Wimbledon Championship trophy has a silver-gilt with a pineapple design on the lid. This highly coveted trophy has been won by great tennis stars, including Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, Pete Sampras, Boris Becker, and of course, the unforgettable John McEnroe. 

The trophy stands at 18 inches tall with a diameter of 7.5 inches and the inscription reads: “The All England Lawn Tennis Club Single Handed Championship of the World”. It also has the names and dates of the previous champions engraved on it.


Travis Kelce of Kansas City Chiefs celebrates with the Vince Lombardi Trophy at Hard Rock Stadium February 2020

Vince Lombardi Trophy

Named after the legendary NFL coach Vince Lombardi, who led the Green Bay Packers to five NFL titles in seven years, this trophy is awarded to the winners of the Super Bowl. Even though it costs a staggering $50,000 to make, and takes around four months to complete, this trophy is made new for each NFL season. The Vince Lombardi trophy is made by Tiffany & Co. jewelry company and stands at 22 inches tall, weighing 7 pounds. Interestingly, the trophy was designed on a napkin in 1966 for the 1967 Super Bowl by Oscar Reidner, the vice president of design at Tiffany & Co.


Kawhi Leonard of Toronto Raptors celebrates with the Larry O'Brien Championship Trophy at NBA Finals June 2019

Larry O’Brien NBA Championship

Another trophy made by Tiffany & Co, the Larry O’Brien NBA Championship trophy has been celebrated as a beautiful piece of design for the last 40 years. The trophy is 2 ft tall and is made from 16 lbs of sterling silver with a 24-carat gold overlay. This stunning trophy resembles a life-size basketball falling into a net, and is handed to the champions at each year’s NBA Finals.


The FIFA World Cup Trophy during the 2018 FIFA World Cup Final between July 2018

FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup trophy, made from 18-carat gold, was first designed by the Italian artist Silvio Gazzaniga and is worth an estimated $20 million. Every four years, the trophy is awarded to the team that wins the World Cup Final. The trophy is approximately 14.5 inches tall and weighs a hefty 13.5 pounds. The design of the trophy resembles two athletes raising their arms up in victory while holding up the world. When a country wins the World Cup, their name is engraved on this prestigious trophy’s base. Currently, Brazil has the most FIFA World Cup victories.

UEFA Champions League trophy

Considered the most decorated club cup in history, and even more sought after than the FIFA World Cup (depending on who you ask), the UEFA Champions League trophy is 29 inches tall and weighs an incredible 16.5 lbs. This sterling silver design is the biggest trophy in club soccer. The current trophy is the fifth version of the latest design and was commissioned by UEFA General Secretary Hans Bangerter after Real Madrid were allowed to keep the second one in 1967.


T.J. Oshie of Washington Capitals hoists the Stanley Cup during the 2018 NHL Stanley Cup Final

Stanley Cup

The Stanley Cup is the oldest championship trophy that is still awarded to a professional sports team. In 1892, the former aide of the governor-general of Canada, Lord Stanley, bought a punch bowl from a silversmith in London to reward the top hockey club in Canada. Initially, the cup stood at 7 inches tall and about a foot in diameter. Over the years, tiered rings were attached to the bottom of the bowl, followed by long narrow bands, and lastly, uneven bands were added where the names of every winning team are inscribed. It’s common for bands to be removed in order to make room for the new champions. Today, the Stanley Cup is nearly three feet tall and weighs more than 34 lbs!


Siya Kolisi of the Springboks and Rassie Erasmus Springboks coach at OR Tambo International Airport in November 2019

Webb Ellis Cup trophy

The Rugby World Cup is one of the most-watched global sporting competitions in the world, and the trophy is just as iconic as the prestigious tournament. This gilded silver trophy is 15 inches tall — similar in size to the FIFA World Cup trophy. The Webb Ellis Cup is adapted from an existing model and has two cast scroll handles, and the design on the trophy was chosen at the royal jewelers in London in 1986, by the English chairman of the organizing committee. On the face and below the arch of the trophy, the words “International Rugby Football Board” and “The Webb Ellis Cup” are engraved respectively. Today, two official Webb Ellis cups are used interchangeably.


Phil Mickelson holding up the Wanamaker Trophy after winning the 87th PGA Championship August 2005

The Wanamaker trophy

This trophy is awarded to the PGA Championship winner and is named after Rodman Wanamaker, the founder of the Professional Golfers’ Association in America. The trophy has been around since 1916, when Wanamaker contributed $2,500 of his own money toward the prize fund, and ordered a silver cup that the golfers played for. The trophy stands at 28 inches tall, 10 ½ inches in diameter, 27 inches from handle to handle, and weighs 27 lbs.

The Ryder Cup

The Ryder Cup is considered golf’s most prestigious trophy and is named after Samuel Ryder, who donated the trophy in 1926. The Ryder Cup is a gold chalice that stands at 17 inches tall, 9 inches in width (handle to handle), and weighs 4 lbs. The trophy was designed by the Mappin & Webb Company in the form of a golden chalice and the figure on top of the trophy is said to represent the British golfer Abe Mitchell. The wooden base contains the engraved scores of each Ryder Cup winner.

The US Open Championship

One of the oldest most storied Majors in golf has a trophy to match. The US Open trophy is 18 inches tall and made of sterling silver. The winner of the US Open receives the trophy and gets to keep it for a year. The trophy is awarded to the greatest players in the world on one of the world’s finest golf courses.

Place your bets on an excellent sports market at Borgata Online

Borgata Online has a wide range of sports for you to bet on, including basketball, baseball, soccer, tennis, and many more. Place your bets and see who lifts the trophies from the US Open, to the FIFA World Cup, and many more! If you’re looking for the best NBA betting, tennis betting, NFL betting action and more, Borgata Online is the sportsbook casino for you!